Mike Leonard Sketch

IMG_1220

I find that I struggle mostly with rendering faces and hands. Because I wanted to get the detail as perfect as I could I found I was rubbing out a lot on the face of this drawing and starting again.  It eventually began lifting the paper slightly underneath. This causes an issue when trying to blend as the pencil begins gathering in one place where the paper has been damaged. The work begins looking untidy on close inspection and it stops you from getting the fine detail soft and blended.
So I will be cautious when sketching in future and make sure that with the areas I find more difficult I will make sure my sketches are outlined softly so that if I do have to rub out the pencil I don’t have to put on too much pressure and damage the paper.

Leave a Reply

